Pond Lehocky Stern Giordano Annual Scholarship

The Pond Lehocky Stern Giordano Scholarship has been established to aid the friends, family members and colleagues of injured workers in the pursuit of higher education. The $5000 annual scholarship is open to everyone currently accepted to or enrolled in higher education, and is not limited to any one particular university. We invite you to share this opportunity and encourage your network of acquaintances to apply.

Application Submission Deadlines

This application is now closed.

Eligibility Guidelines

  • Applicant must be enrolled in a higher education establishment, including but not limited to colleges, seminaries, institutes of technology, vocational schools, and other institutions that award academic degrees or professional certifications.
  • Applicant must have a personal connection to a work injury incident, which the applicant will describe in a submission essay.
  • Applicant must be 18 years of age or older.
  • Applicants who have been awarded the Annual Scholarship award from Pond Lehocky Stern Giordano will not be eligible to submit for the scholarship again.

Submission Guidelines

  • This application is now closed. Be sure to check in next year!
  • Submit a 500 word essay on an experience you have had with a work injury, how the experience impacted you, and how this scholarship will be helpful to you. The work injury could be one you experienced, or one experienced by a friend, family member or colleague.
  • Please submit an acceptance letter or proof of enrollment such as a class registration receipt for your application to be considered.
  • Please provide two letters of recommendation from professional and/ or academic sources.
  • Please submit the scholarship application and additional documents requested (essay, acceptance letter or proof of enrollment, and recommendation letters) either via e-mail to scholarship@pondlehocky.com with the subject line “PLSG Annual Scholarship Submission” or via mail to the address below:
    • Attn: Annual Scholarship Submission – Pond Lehocky Stern Giordano
      2005 Market Street, 18th Floor
      Philadelphia, PA 19103

Annual Law School Scholarship Fund in Trial Advocacy

Samuel H. Pond and Jerry M. Lehocky, both former students at Temple University Law School, have been giving back to law students each year with their annual scholarship. Since 2013, Pond Lehocky Stern Giordano has awarded a scholarship to a student with a focus on trial advocacy at Temple University’s Beasley School of Law.

The Beasley Law endowed scholarship is awarded during the Fall Semester and students are nominated by the faculty who oversee the trial advocacy programs.

Kids’ Chance of PA Scholarship

Pond Lehocky partnered with Kids’ Chance of PA, a non-profit organization that provides scholarships to children of seriously injured workers or workers who were killed. Paying for college isn’t easy, especially for families affected by loss. KCPA’s goal is More Money for More Kids and to help as many students as possible.

Eligibility Guidelines

  • Must be bound for post secondary (post high school) education.
  • Must have achieved a high school diploma by the time of the first disbursement of the scholarship award.
  • Must be under the age of 25 years old at the time of the full disbursement of the scholarship award
  • Must be entering to study or already studying toward receiving an undergraduate bachelor or associates degree
  • May not have already attained a bachelor’s degree
  • Applicants in graduate level programs are ineligible
  • Must have at least one custodial parent or step-parent who has been seriously injured or killed in a work-related accident that has been documented by the parent’s employer
  • Applicant’s parent’s injury or death must be related to the work-related accident
  • Applicants are eligible for the equivalent of 4 traditional years (8 traditional semesters) of scholarship award.

The scholarship application can be completed online through the Kids’ Chance website. The 2019 application deadline has passed, but return to this page early next year for information about the 2020 scholarship.